2017 Laws: Common Law Rulings in Bridge

(posted 24-Feb-2019)

Hereunder are basic law questions I included in a Seminar I ran at The Links during mid-February.

See how YOU fare?!

  1. Unintended bid - 1H drawn from bidding box instead of 1S. LHO has already passed before the error was discovered.
  2. Revoke - At the end of the current trick (you ruffed in 2nd seat) you discovered that you do in fact have a diamond to follow suit. What happens now?
  3. Partner has declared 4S but your LHO leads the H2 out of turn. Can partner accept this lead and make you play the hand?
  4. You are playing at table 4 when you overhear the chatter at table 5, in particular "you should have bid 6S partner. It was so obvious!" You have to play those boards next round. What do you do?
  5. The bidding went 1H - P - P - 2NT and partner alerts and explains it as "both minors". In fact, you meant it as 18-19 balanced, as per the system. Partner now bids 3C, in his mind a selection and sign-off. Your hand is: AQxx, AJx, Kx, Axxx . What do you do?
  6. LHO has bid diamonds in the auction. You reach 3NT and at trick 4 you play a diamond towards dummy's A-Q-x and you were set to play the queen. You start by saying "que.." when you notice lefty has played the king. "No, sorry, ace please". The TD is called. How will he rule?
  7. Dummy comes down with 12 cards and declarer is found to have 14 cards now. What would you do if you were the TD? Only the opening lead has been made.
  8. Is dummy allowed to:
    a) Tell partner that he is in dummy (while declarer is fingering his cards)?
    b) Tell partner that he was in dummy after declarer played from his hand?
    c) Tell declarer that he has 6 tricks and not 5 (declarer faced trick 1 the wrong way)?
    d) Ask declarer "No hearts?" when declarer shows out?
    e) Draw attention to a revoke during the play of the hand?

See Solutions     Print the problems (PDF)     Print the solutions (PDF)

Source: Feb 2019 Seminar, The Links


(with references to the respective Laws)

  1. Law 25A: He can correct it, and LHO can change the bid also
  2. Law 63A1: Revoke is not established. You can correct and your LHO can change his card also. If LHO changes his card and partner also does, then partner's changed card (if defending) becomes a penalty card. If LHO does not change his card, partner cannot change his card, sorry.
  3. Law 54A: Yup, he can.
  4. Law 16D1: Call the TD who will then apply Law 16D - the board will be deemed unplayable and both pairs will get at least 60% (Law 12C2) and the loud person(s) must be penalized. (Law 90B3)
  5. Law 16 and 75A: Partner's explanation is Unauthorized Information for you. Treat 3C as stayman, as per the system, and respond 3S at this stage. Anything else will be proof that you are fielding the miseplanation and is subject ro penalty.
  6. Law 45C4b: He has to play the queen. The ace is a change of mind and is not allowed.
  7. Law 13B1 and 13B2: Whilst the players are in breach of this law, we might still salvage a fair result from this table. If the extra card is a spot card that would not have any influence on the bidding, simply fix the error. If the extra card is an ace and the bidding would be significantly different, then call the board unplayable, fix the error, and adjust, giving the offending pair 40% and the other pair 60% (Law 12C again).
    • Law 42B2: Yes, he can try to prevent an irregularity;
    • Law 43A1b and c: Not allowed!
    • Law 43A1c: Not allowed!
    • Law 42B2: Yes, he can, and should!
    • Law 43A1b: No, he may not. See Law 90 for penalties.

Top of Page     Print the problems (PDF)     Print the solutions (PDF)

Reminder: Address your queries to: forum [at] sabf.co.za