
 

South African Mixed Trials 
 

 

 

EIGHT HURDLES DOWN AND THREE TO GO!  

 

Congratulations to Terry and Jan East who have climbed up from 5th place to 1st during the second day of the 
SA Mixed Trials. They have accumulated just over 100 VPs (100.98). The chasing pairs are Glen Holman and 
Michele Alexander in 2nd, Larry Chemaly and Sharon Lang 3rd, Duncan Keet and Carol Stanton 4th and Phil 
King and Merle Bracher 5th.  

At the bottom end we have 5 pairs (Brian Pincus and Maureen Narunsky, Imtiaz Kaprey and Jill Rabie, Paul 
Reynolds and Erica Zimet and Lex Van Vught with Rita Gawron), all fighting hard to keep in the top eight so they 
can continue and avoid elimination. Hopefully even if you are 'knocked out' after Day 3 of the Qualifying Rounds 
you have enjoyed the experience of playing against some of South Africa's top players.  

We wish all our competitors Good Luck for Day 3.  

 

 Deirdre Ingersent 
 

MIXED PAIRS QUALIFIERS – RESULTS BY ROUND 

Bulletin: Number 10 



DAY 3 – MATCH SCHEDULE 

 
 

 

 

 

Some of the players from Cape Town: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Phil King Terry East Michele Alexander Merle Bracher Glen Holman 



Round 5 – Hand 6 
 

Look at this! East West can make 6H and North South can make 5S. No fewer than 5 doubled contracts with 4 
making. Can we learn anything from the bidding as seen below at each table?  

 

 

 

 

Not sure if we can learn anything. Freak hands are diƯicult to assess, but I would like to make the following 
points 

1. The most successful auctions for North South were where North made a simple 1♠ overcall with his big 
2-suiter. 

2. Those who made a takeout double with the North hands failed to get their hands across. It would be 
highly unlikely that partner would be able to bid a doubleton spade, where your best chance for making 
game lies. If you wish to show both suits with such extreme shape, it is best to bid 2NT (showing at least 
5-5 in the other 2 suits). Remember, however, that you should be cautious making a 2-suiter with 6 
cards in an unbid major.  

3. Those who chose to pre-empt 4♠ with the North hand, made a possibly reasonable choice. But when 
opponents competed further, a bid of 5♦ would have completed the description of their hand. 
Typically, you wish to buy the contract when you’re 6-6 shape in 2 suits. While it is usually frowned 
upon to bid again when you have made a pre-emptive bid, it is acceptable when you have a highly 
unusual hand.  

4. Those East West pairs who got to 6♥ did really well, but maybe their opponents should have taken out 
insurance at the prevailing vulnerability and bid 6♠. Only 1 down.  

 

A total of 63.2 imps changed hands on this deal!! 



Declarer Play 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Declarers, South, were faced with the 4th highest 6♠. Making use of the rule of 11, declarer could work out that 
East has only 1 card higher than the 6.  This could be the Ace, Jack, 9 or 7. Most declarers made the correct 
decision to duck, as this only loses to the Jack, but gains against all other holdings. 1st hurdle was overcome 
when East wins with the Ace. East switched to a low diamond won by West with the Ace. West continued the 
suit. Declarer now ducked 1 round and won the next round of diamonds with West showing out.  

Let’s count tricks: 

1. We have lost 3 tricks – 1 spade and 2 diamonds. 
2. We can make 3 spade tricks knowing that East has no higher cards in the suit. 
3. We can make 3 heart tricks but need to ensure that we do not lose a heart to East who has a mountain 

of diamonds to cash. We must take the heart finesse through East to keep him off lead.  
4. We have 1 diamond trick and 2 club tricks.   

Checking I see that we have 9 tricks. Therefore, correct line is; spade 10, take the heart finesse losing to West. 
Unblock hearts and repeat spade finesse if necessary. Use the clubs for communication. 

Counting wins the day again.  

 

 

 

 

2 Mixed Pairs trialists went down 4 and 5 tricks respectively when they failed to count.  

I was surprised to see one of the successful declarers taking the dangerous heart finesse which risked losing to 
East’s queen and an avalanche of diamonds. They got lucky this time.  

Rita Gawron took the recommended line and gained 4.6 imps for that effort – well done! 



To bid or not to bid 
 

When partner makes a 
takeout double of a high level 
pre-empt, my strong advice is 
to pass with all balanced 
hands almost regardless of 
strength. Bidding 3 card suits 
is not recommended, and it is 
usually wrong to make any bid 
unless you have a reasonable 
expectation that you can 
make your contract. It’s much 
easier to take 4 tricks 
compared with taking 10 or 11 
tricks, especially when suits 
are rated to be breaking badly. 
4♥ doubled went down 2 for 
plus 500 at the tables where 
West sensibly passed.  

 

Follow the Clues 
 

North/South were the only pair 
to get to the reasonable 3NT 
contract where most of the 
time there will be 6 diamond 
tricks, 1 spade and 2 clubs. 
The bad diamond break 
means there are only 4 
diamond tricks but the 
defence has to be careful. 
West reasonably led his 
singleton heart in the suit 
overcalled by partner. East 
unfortunately did not 
appreciate that when the 9♥ 
appears in dummy, partner 
can only have 1 or 2 hearts 
and there is no future in the 
heart suit. Declarer probably 
has 6 diamonds and at least 4 hearts making a black suit switch reasonable – spades is probably safer. On the 
hand, East cashed the A♥ and now 9 tricks were easy. Plus 400 was worth 9.4 imps.   

Tip: Especially after an informative auction, there are invariably plenty of clues to guide the defence.  

 

 



Good Judgement or Sensible Restraint? 
This hand is instructive in that 
there is usually no slam when 
2 balanced hands, even if they 
have a fit, have fewer than 
31/32 high card points. This 
isn’t the worse slam you could 
bid but probably needs the 
diamond finesse to be right a 
lot of the time. Note that the 
South hand is exceptionally 
strong for a 2♠ bid in that it 
has a good source of tricks in 
diamonds. (Picture the South 
hand with 1 fewer diamond 
and 1 more club or heart and 
you will see how poor the slam 
would be).  

On the auction above, that 
was duplicated a few times around the room, Imtiaz was restrained enough to not look for the magical slam 
even though partner had shown 4 spades and a maximum. 2 pairs got to slam and were punished when the 
diamond finesse was off and the suit did not break.  

I was Vulnerable! 
 

On this hand 3 South players 
took advantage of the 
favourable vulnerability and 
took a save in 4 ♥ which even 
if doubled will only cost a 
maximum of 300 points. Phil 
King, shown above in the West 
seat, realised that the penalty 
from 4♥ would not be 
adequate compensation for a 
vulnerable game. Having 13 
HCP’s and a 5 card suit he 
realised that 10 tricks might 
be there for the taking and bid 
a successful 4NT.  

 

 

 

 

All of the above hands were 
submitted by Bernard Donde 



 

Novice & Advancing Players’ Corner 
 

Bidding or defending against No Trump contracts 

 

Yesterday’s bulletin addressed the importance of bidding against opponents’ contracts when they stop at a low 
level. Today we are going to address whether we ought to compete against opponent’s 1NT contracts.  

In general, when opponents open 1NT (particularly in South Africa) they are promising 15-17 HCP. We should 
compete against these hands when we have shape and not necessarily points. Let’s think about why. When 
the opponents open 1NT they are already stating they have close to 1/3rd of the deck’s points. How are we going 
to make tricks? We can’t possibly make tricks through just having High Card Points because our opponents 
already have half the deck of points. We can however make tricks through long suits. That is why most 
conventions that deal with bidding over a 1NT opening bid show either 6 card suits or a 2 suited hand with 
minimum 5/4 in two suits and often that 5 card suit is a Major. If you are interested in the conventions that exist 
that deal with bidding over 1NT have a look at the following links: 

Cappelletti: https://bridgebum.com/cappelletti.php 

DONT : https://bridgebum.com/dont.php 

Multi-Landy: https://www.bridgebum.com/multi_landy.php 

(I suggest Multi-Landy which for some strange reason is often referred to as Hamilton in South Africa) 

 

Let’s have a brief look at some of the trial hands which had an opportunity to bid over 1NT: 

1.  

 

2.  

 
3.  

 

4.  

 
5. 

 

6.  

 
 

 

 

 



 

 

 Can you work out which 3 of the above hands most players decided to overcall with after their opponent’s 1NT 
opening bid? 

Hands 3,4 and 6 decided to compete over 1NT. Why? All 3 of those hands had at least 2 suits that they could 
potentially develop despite the lack of HCP. The aim is to produce tricks through the development of shape. It is 
really hard to get enough tricks when you have a balanced hand and your opponent has just as many high cards 
and a similar shape. All 3 of the hands that overcalled had at least one decent Major suit and at least two suits 
with which they could produce tricks. You may look at hands 1 and 2 and ask yourself why on earth are we 
passing with such decent hands? These hands are defensive hands… as long as you get the defence right. This 
brings us to the big discussion of tonight. When you have a decent balanced hand against a 1NT opening bidder 
you had better make sure your defensive hat is well placed on your head and you are paying attention… 

The most reasonable auction that 
occurred during trials is seen 
here (my name is in all the seats 
so as not to throw anyone under 
the bus). 

You rightly, decided to pass and 
now you have to defeat 2♠.  

Question 1: what do you lead?  
South should lead top of a 
sequence (we have all heard 
that). But which sequence? You 
have 2, you have the AK of ♥and 
the KQ of ♦. Which is better? 
Leading the Ace is always the 
best idea. Why? You get to win 
the trick AND have a look at 
dummy. You also get signals from 
partner telling you whether they 

liked or disliked your lead. What do we need to have in order to encourage the lead? Against suit contracts there 
are 2 situations where we encourage the lead, either we have an equivalent honour (the Ace promises the King 
and therefore the Queen is an equivalent honour) or we have a doubleton and we are telling partner we can ruƯ 
the 3rd heart. How do we send encouraging signals? I prefer ‘low I like’. So the signaling would look like the 
below image: 

The 3 is very clearly low and so I would know 
immediately that my partner was encouraging the 
lead with either the Q or the possibility of being able 
to ruƯ the 3rd ♥.  

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

However, many people play high encourages the lead. I am 
often asked what is better. I personally prefer ‘low I like’ but a 
very good bridge partner of mine once said “The best signals 
are the ones your partner understands”. That is very 
important. It does not matter what you play as long as you 
are on the same page and can understand what your partner 
plays. So, let’s look at what happens if you play ‘High = 
Encouraging’.  

This is when you have to be awake. Partner will always play 
the highest card they have available to them to encourage 
the lead. This does not mean it is a high card in the classical 
sense. If you look at the cards played you have to ask 
yourself where is the 4 and the 3 of ♥. Why has no one played them. Maybe my partner has them and was 
forced to play the 5 to tell me to continue but had no higher card. Whatever signalling system you play you 
ALWAYS have to look at the card in the context of what is shown. It is not easy. It takes work and it is work you 
have to be willing to do. To be a good partner means watching and working out what your partner’s problem may 
be. In this case your partner was stuck with low cards and did the best they could.  

If you correctly read the 5 as a high encouraging signal you were well on your way to defeating this contract. As 
long as you played 3 rounds of hearts, with partner winning the Q in the 3rd round and returning the diamond the 
contract was down. But even the best of the best got it wrong. Have a look at the traveller: 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

Only 1 pair found a route to defeating the contract.  

3 pairs could not resist the temptation to bid over 1NT with the South hand and promptly found themselves 
going down instead of the opponents.  

And 2 pairs could not find the correct defence.  

We are all working on our Bridge during trials. The aim is always to do the right thing. To think and to pay 
attention. Bid over 1NT with shape not values. Watch the cards your partner plays and work out what they are 
trying to say. Do not jump to conclusions just because a card may look low or high. Is it possible that it’s the 
best they can do in the situation they are in.  

 

 

Submitted by Carol Stanton 

 



Visualisation and a bit of Safety 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This hand came up in the final round of the mixed trials on day 2. There are two very interesting and instructive 
observations that I want to discuss regarding declarer’s chosen line of play on the given defence.  

I am not going to comment on the bidding of this hand as there are a multitude of diƯerent auctions that could 
have changed the direction of the final contract. Let’s assume that we are playing 3NT from North on the lead of 
the 2♥.  

West wins with the Ace and returns the 5♥. What is the division of the heart suit? West must have 5 cards and 
East exactly 3. What should we do now? It might seem correct to just play low for another round to cut the 
opponents’ communications but let’s investigate the layout that most probably exists in the heart suit. The 
question that we must answer is whether East’s hand has one of the outstanding honours. If so, we have a clear 
way to cut/block the opponents’ communications immediately by going up with the K♥. The key card in our 
hand which doesn’t allow the opponents to unblock the heart suit is the 10♥. 

The key lies in West winning with the A♥ and returning a low card……which holding is possible for West on this 
play and which is not? Well, what would West play if he had the AQJXX in the suit? It is natural to put in the in J 
with that holding, to preserve comms with partner when he might hold exactly 3 cards. We can therefore 
conclude that the K♥ has to be the correct play as the Hearts are now blocked and declarer can lose one trick 
but the opponents can’t untangle the Hearts when they get the lead. So we can now safely take a Club finesse 
and if it loses the contract is completely safe. Note that ducking a second heart carries the risk of opponents 
switching to diamonds which may be fatal on the hand.  

My last point of interest deals with us ducking the first two tricks, which would have been correct had we not 
held the 10♥. Once we have cut the East hand oƯ from partner’s hand, do we finesse a Club or not? Do we need 
ALL the Club tricks to fulfil our contract or not? We don’t, but in setting up our Club suit we must avoid giving 
West an entry at all costs as an entry would mean defeat. The correct play then is to refuse the Club finesse and 
simply play the Ace. In the layout above we get lucky and catch West’s King. If East of course had the King we 
can now safely lose the lead to that hand and claim our contract. 

The play of the King as suggested in my first discussion point is necessary in the event that West was dealt KX or 
KXX and we couldn’t avoid the loss of the lead at a critical stage to West.  

 

Submitted by Hennie Fick 



BRIDGE ETIQUETTE! 
 

HOW TO PLAY DUMMY CORRECTLY! 

 

This entry will be of more use to beginner club players I feel but no harm for all players to be reminded about 
dummy's rights.  

First and foremost, dummy must be silent and not lead declarer in any way.  

 

The following pointers show how a dummy should act. 

1.  Dummy should lay out the cards before writing down details on his personal score sheet or entering the 
contract in the Bridgemate to ensure the other players at the table are not kept waiting.  

2.  Cards in each suit should be laid out neatly and clearly, in sequence from high to low.  

3.  The trump suit should be laid out on Dummy's right.  

4.  Dummy must not touch a card before receiving instructions from the declarer. This includes playing a card 
even when it is a singleton. (Remember that it is extremely advisable for declarer to plan the hand before 
playing to the first trick. He does not need to be hurried by an overeager Dummy). 

5.  Dummy may not ask for a review of the auction.  

6.  Dummy is not entitled to call the Tournament Director when there has been an infraction of the law or other 
problem during play.  

7.  Dummy may not draw declarer's attention to anything except when he is about to lead from the wrong hand 
or ask if he is out of the suit just played or he has a trick count card incorrectly orientated.  

8.  Dummy may however call a Tournament Director after the hand has been played out.  

 

Now here's an interesting fact . . .  

If declarer designates a suit, but not the rank, declarer is deemed to have called for the lowest card of the suit 
indicated.  If declarer designates a rank but not a suit, declarer is deemed to be continuing the suit in which 
dummy won the last trick. To avoid any confusion, it is best if declarer clearly states e.g. Small club or 'Ace of 
Hearts'. (Ace and eight can sound very similar - be careful with this.)  

Watch for the next part!  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Submitted by Deirdre Ingersent 

 


